JURUTERA ONLINE



Photovoltaic Mini Colloquium 2019

by Ir. Dr Lee Choo Yong and Mr. Lance M T Lai

Ir. Dr Lee Choo Yong is currently the Vice Chairman in Electronic Engineering Technical Division (eETD).

Mr. Lance M T Lai is currently the Honorary Secretary in IEEE Penang Joint Chapter.



The electronic engineering technical division (eETD) and IEEE ED/MTT/SSC Penang Joint Chapter have successfully co-organized photovoltaic (PV) mini colloquium at Penang Skills Development Center (PSDC) on 11th April 2019, with support from IEEE Electron Device Society (EDS) Malaysia Chapter.

The mini colloquium was attended by 31 engineers, technologists and researchers. Dr. Jagadheswaran Rajendran, Vice Chair of IEEE Penang Joint Chapter moderated the mini colloquium.

The IEEE EDS Distinguished Lecturers were Professor Vikram Dalal of Iowa State University, Professor Lawrence L. Kazmerski of University of Colorado Boulder and Professor Anil Kottantharayil of IIT Bombay.

The first talk was "Perovskite Solar Cells: The New Frontier for Photovoltaic Device" by Professor Vikram Dalal started at 6:30pm. Professor Vikram shared emergence of perovskite solar cells which is a good light absorbers, fabrication methods and associated technical challenges. The second lecture was "Photovoltaics History, Technology, Innovation, and Progress: The Future is Now ..." by Professor Lawrence L. Kazmerski. It was an informative talk where speaker depicted road map, status of R&D, markets, manufacturing, and investments of photovoltaic technology. The last lecture was "PV Module Performance Loss due to Degradation and Soiling" by Professor Anil Kottantharayil. Professor Anil discussed degradation and soiling of PV panels and associated impact on energy yield.

The mini colloquium adjourned at 9:30pm with interactive Q&A as some participants are practicing engineers involve in PV business. The IEEE Penang Joint Chapter Chair and eETD committee member, Ir. Bernard Lim also presented certificates of appreciation to speakers.



Professor Anil Kottantharayil



Presentation of token of appreciation to speakers



Group photo – speakers and participants